Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for March 20th, 2014

Michael GoffinetMichael Goffinet was born and raised in Southern California. After earning his Masters of Health Administration degree, he worked in the health care industry for the last two decades.  He currently resides in Las Vegas, Nevada with his wife of twenty years and his teenage son. He is an avid golfer and when he’s not reading or writing he can be found on the golf course.

His latest book is the action thriller, They Call Me Superman.

Visit his website at www.michaelgoffinet.com.

They Call Me Superman 7Would you call yourself a born writer?

Definitely not. I never thought about writing a novel until later in life.

What was your inspiration for They Call Me Superman?

I became consumed with action thrillers fifteen years ago. I found myself constantly thinking about different book plots and characters. I developed Marcus Evans on a sleepless night and he grew from there. I finally found the courage to put pen to paper.

What themes do you like to explore in your writing?

I don’t have set themes I write about. I try to include heroism, death, and a little love.

How long did it take you to complete the novel?

I wrote the first draft in six months. It took me another year to revise, edit, and publish it.

Are you disciplined? Describe a typical writing day.

My discipline changes at different stages of the book. During the first draft, I try and write about 5,000 words a week, although some scenes are more difficult than others.  The revision stage goes a little faster on a word count basis, however, I go through the book four to five times, continuing to critique and revise.

What did you find most challenging about writing this book?

Making sure the novel flowed properly. There are numerous actions scenes occurring in several different countries.

What do you love most about being an author?

I love developing the plot as well as the characters. Dialogue is my favorite part to write.

Did you go with a traditional publisher, small press, or did you self publish? What was the process like and are you happy with your decision? 

I published with a small press. The process was time consuming, but they did a good job. They have a five point edit process, which is very good, however, I wouldn’t do it again. Unless you are a very successful author you have little control over you book.

Where can we find you on the web?

Michaelgoffinet.com. Go there and request my free short story “Karma’s A Bitch.”

Read Full Post »