Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 10th, 2014

ABOUT SEEING THE JOY IN AFFLICTION

Seeing the Joy in AfflictionTitle: Seeing the Joy in Affliction
Genre: Religious
Author: Michael Shelley
Publisher: iUniverse
EBook: 128 pages
Release Date: October 8, 2004
ISBN: 978-0-59577-656-6

Based on the author’s personal experience with physical and emotional affliction, including terminal brain cancer, Seeing the Joy in Affliction deals with the tough questions:

Why do Christians suffer? Is it a lack of faith?
Is suffering part of God’s plan for us?
How do we respond in obedience to various kinds of suffering?
What is the secret in unleashing God’s power in the midst of our suffering?
How do we minister to others when we are suffering?

Learn the ultimate secret for dealing with these and other essential questions about growing in your faith.

iUniverse

 

ABOUT MICHAEL SHELLEY

 

Mike Shelley is a professor of Environmental Science and Engineering at the Air Force Institute of Technology and attends Christian Life Center in Dayton Ohio. He has taught Bible classes for over 30 years. He and his wife Sherry have three children?Maria, Andrew, and Joshua.

 

Pump Up Your Book and Michael are teaming up to give away a $25 Amazon Gift Card!

Terms & Conditions:
  • By entering the giveaway, you are confirming you are at least 18 years old.
  • 1 winner will be chosen via Rafflecopter to receive each of the prizes
  • This giveaway begins April 1 and ends on April 15.
  • Winners will be contacted via email on April 16, 2014.
  • Winner has 48 hours to reply.

Good luck everyone!

ENTER TO WIN!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Read Full Post »

ABOUT SO WHAT DO YOU THINK

Title: So What Do You Think

Genre: Self Help/Personal Growth

Author: Clair Swinburne

Publisher: iUniverse

EBook: 112 pages

Release Date: July 28, 2011

ISBN: 978-1-46202-936-5

This psychology guide for teens presents an overview of how the mind works to give you a clearer understanding of how to look after your mental health.

We all need to take care of our mental health. But just how do you accomplish this? In So What Do You Think? author Clair Swinburne helps teenagers understand the natural workings of the mind and uncovers interesting facts about what affects our reality to provide insights into how to achieve positive results in life.

So What Do You Think? examines the attitudes, outlooks, and mindsets that produce success in life. It reviews how the mind works and how it can impact your behaviour, your reality, the things you attract into your life and your body. This analysis will provide a greater understanding of how to look after your mind and it will give you a deeper knowledge about what works for you and what doesn’t.

Using anecdotes and humour, Clair helps you learn new perspectives and strategies that can improve your well-being and produce more positive attitudes and results. So What Do You Think? also outlines ten practical techniques to help you begin looking after your mental health now.

 

iUniverse

ABOUT CLAIR SWINBURNE

Clair Swinburne is an experienced teacher who has taught in the United Kingdom and Ireland and for many years has worked as a pastoral leader and mentor. She is also a master practitioner of neuro-linguistic programming. Her positive interaction with teenagers prompted her to write the So What …? book series. She currently lives in Ireland.

 

Pump Up Your Book and Clair are teaming up to give away a $25 Amazon Gift Card!

Terms & Conditions:
  • By entering the giveaway, you are confirming you are at least 18 years old.
  • 1 winner will be chosen via Rafflecopter to receive each of the prizes
  • This giveaway begins April 1 and ends on April 15.
  • Winners will be contacted via email on April 16, 2014.
  • Winner has 48 hours to reply.

Good luck everyone!

ENTER TO WIN!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Read Full Post »

David BurnsworthDavid Burnsworth became fascinated with the Deep South at a young age. After a degree in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Tennessee and fifteen years in the corporate world, he made the decision to write a novel. Southern Heat is his first mystery. Having lived in Charleston on Sullivan’s Island for five years, the setting was a foregone conclusion. He and his wife along with their dog call South Carolina home.

His latest book is the southern noir/mystery, Southern Heat.

Visit his website at www.davidburnsworthbooks.com.

Would you call yourself a born writer?

First of all, thanks for the opportunity to reach your followers. As for being a born writer, I guess I have some attributes that help. (I’ve also got a truckload that get in the way, but that‘s another story.) I like to develop stories in my head and like to get lost in books. I love listening to people communicate, both in what they say and what’s implied by how they say it. I’m also very interested in motive. I’m not a great linguist and my wife always knows my motive in every situation, but I try to make my characters quicker and wittier than I could ever be in real life.

Southern Heat 7What was your inspiration for Southern Heat?

The book is set in Charleston, South Carolina. I lived there for five years and the place has never left my head. I began with a ten thousand foot overview of my experiences from that time, created some characters that I thought fit the setting, and whittled them all down to what became the book.

What themes do you like to explore in your writing?

Environmental and animal abuse—I’d like to contribute more toward conservation and preservation of our land, and protecting endangered species especially from poaching.

Taking advantage of the unfortunate—I believe that those with should be helping those in need, not abusing them.

The underdog—I love the picture from China of the one man facing off against a tank in the city street. That is who I want my protagonist to aspire to be.

How long did it take you to complete the novel?

It took six years from the first word until a contract. Thanks to the South Carolina Writers Workshop, I learned how to write. Then Killer Nashville helped me get in front of the right people.

Are you disciplined? Describe a typical writing day.

I am not so much disciplined as more of an opportunist writer. I have to work around a day job and spending time with my wife.

What did you find most challenging about writing this book?

Tying up all the loose ends. Every time I added a plot twist or new scene, I created the opportunity to leave some detail hanging.

What do you love most about being an author?

The vain side of me says seeing my name on the front cover of a book. The better side of me says hearing that people enjoy reading what I wrote.

Did you go with a traditional publisher, small press, or did you self publish? What was the process like and are you happy with your decision?

My publisher is Five Star, which is a small imprint with Thorndike / Cengage. I am very happy with them. They’ve been great to work with throughout this process, which was entirely new to me.

Where can we find you on the web?

www.davidburnsworthbooks.com

www.facebook.com/BurnsworthDavid

@DavidBurnsworth

Read Full Post »

